Some rays of sunshine

6 Feb

It’s been a little strange from me to try and follow american politics from abroad.  I feel somewhat disconnected to what’s going on.  This morning I read an article from Politico about a speech that Obama gave at the Democratic Retreat.  Once Obama hit office the tone of his speeches had somewhat changed .  Don’t get me wrong he is still an awesome speaker, but I felt he’d lost some of the powerful pull his campaign speeches had.  I will have to see if I can find video of this speach.  They say that he abandoned his telepromter and spoke from his heart.  Here is a little golden nugget from the article:

Rhode Island Rep. Jim Langevin, who hasn’t been able to walk since he was 16, asked Obama if he would remove the executive ban on federal funding for embryonic stem cell research. Yes, Obama replied, but only after he and congressional leaders figure out a way to prevent opponents from overturning it.

I’m pretty excited to see that.  What a way to make my morning!  😀  You can read the whole article here.

Leave a Reply

