Tragedy and Reflection

25 Sep

I thought I’d clarify my twitter update about the hospital.  I’m ok & both times in the ER were about other people.  Tuesday night we had a false alarm scare with my father in law.  He’s ok thank God. They ran a bunch of tests just to make sure everything was ok.  By the time they were done and we got home it was nearly 3am.

Then after a fitful sleep we got a telephone call in the morning.  The wife of a college buddy of my hubby (also a college buddy) was at the ER and something horrible had happened.  They asked if we could quickly come.  Turns out he was pronounced braindead at the hospital.  He had suddenly passed out in the morning.  I’m not quite sure exactly what happened medically… the terminology is all in Spanish.  All I know is that it’s frightening that someone my age can go from normally getting ready for work… to passed out… to dead.

It’s kind of strange.  I hadn’t had the chance to meet this particular couple before yet I feel as if he was a personal friend of mine who passed.  It makes me think about how life can be a precarous thing.  This does not make the control freak part of me very happy at all.

It’s just been unreal.  If any of you guys are the religious sort prayers for the family would be appreciated.  He has an 8 year old daughter.  It’s so very very tragic and unfair.  The wake is tonight and the funeral is tomorrow.

Leave a Reply

