Deelishus!

25 Apr

I must be on a apple/ cinnamon/ sugar/ crust type kick lately. Today when my 6 year old cousin came over to hang out, all I could think was: “Making some apple dumplings is the perfect thing to do! ” Jonathan’s older sis Katy was called away to cover for someone at her part time job. (Ben & Jerry’s Ice Cream btw… I know~ YUM =^_^=) So, I had to figure out something to do to keep the kiddo busy and not just starin at the TV watching Pokemon for hours. Mind you, he’d be perfectly happy if I let him do that. Go figure. Pioneer Woman’s recipe for Apple Dumplings seemed like the perfect solution for an afternoon of good times to be had by all.

They’re pretty darn easy to make. The dough is just some crescent rolls in a can. I will warn you, the fat/sugar content in these little beauties is not for the faint of heart… but MY oh MY are they worth it! Jonathan got to help out by buttering the baking dish & then wrapping the apple wedges in dough and placing them in the pan. Alas, my oven was out to sabotosh our deelishus dessert and would not get hot enough. Damn old gas oven! after the alloted 40 min in the oven I went to go check and the dumplings had risen but would not brown. O.o I was not to be thwarted! I switched to our convection oven (which is a microwave most days) and finished off the browning in there.

Oh My Dear Gawd! >_< YOU MUST MAKE THESE! If the whole recipe seems like a bit much… then I suppose you could 1/2 it & maybe cook in a pie pan or something? Serve with vanilla ice cream and then die a happy death!

Tomorrow I’m going to whip up Pioneer Woman’s recipe entitled: Marlboro Man’s Favorite Sandwich. I’ll update you on how that goes. (Psst… thanks Gina for showing me the site!)

One more pic b/c the kid is too darn cute! See the missing tooth?

2 Responses to “Deelishus!”

  1. hapamama April 25, 2008 at 3:11 pm #

    Your cousin is adorable, and the apple dumplings look delicious. I’m bookmarking that website right now.

  2. Peachy April 30, 2008 at 6:28 pm #

    I’m warning you.. that woman doesn’t understand the meaning of moderation ! haha However, the stuff is darn good and she’s a hoot to read. ^_^

Leave a Reply

