Sisters and the crafty things that bring us together

30 Mar

Most of you know I have a little sister. One that’s a freshman at UCI. (Who NAILED her finals this past quarter btw… so proud of her! rAWK ON!) Well this past week was her spring break. After picking her up from campus (She dorms… ) I asked if she wanted to go anywhere or do something in particular this week. I was expecting her to say… Oh let’s go to [fill in random location here]… Instead she said… “Nah… I just want to kind of sew some stuff.”

… and sew stuff she did. She made me a dress! Specifically she made me what’s called an Infinity Dress. The style has been around since the 70s. It’s basically a skirt with two very long halter top straps to the front. Think Marilyn Monroe’s iconic white dress from The Seven Year Itch. So we make a couple of trips to various Walmarts to find just the right fabric. We ended up getting a $2/yard polyester jersey in a dark taupe. The really awesome part of this dress is that it can be worn a bunch of different ways (20 +).  She used the pattern on this blog. You can also find a craftster.com thread with tons of info here.  Also, this jersey isn’t as fluid as some as a result it is an unintended bonus is that those straps keep all my belly parts nice and tucked in.  My version customized:

Mod #1 – A thick waistband that wraps all the way around. It’s wide enough to be used as a kind of built in tube top. (Don’t want to be flashing the world my back fat >_<)

Mod #2 – 9 ft wraps. Yes that’s right kiddies.. those things are 9 feet long. The pattern suggested 150% of your height, but I wanted to make sure I had plenty long straps so I could do all the different versions.

Mod #3 – A rectangle skirt as I thought the circle skirt made the dress look a bit retro and not quite the look I wanted. Not to mention the circular skirt seemed to look a bit bulkier and well… let’s be real. The less bulk the better, I have enough of my own as it is.

So, with no further ado here are some photos of me in the dress. (Be kind.. I’m too lazy to photoshop, & why am I standing leaning backwards w/my arms behind my back like an old man? O.o)

Front Back

There are many awesome ways to tie this dress. Some examples:

Not bad for a $10 dress that I can wear a bazillion ways. ^_^

7 Responses to “Sisters and the crafty things that bring us together”

  1. hapamama March 31, 2008 at 8:18 pm #

    She did a fabulous job. I think I really do prefer the rectangular skirt. Now I’m sorely tempted to make one for myself.

  2. Peachy April 1, 2008 at 4:20 pm #

    lol… you should totally go for it! It’s easy and relatively quick. Remember, if you don’t have a serger then you’re going to have to hem the skirt and those 9 ft wraps. Really, that was the only thing that took a good hunk of time. I pinned.. and lil Jin sewed… ^_^

  3. hapamama April 1, 2008 at 6:25 pm #

    I’m getting myself a serger next month.

    My sewing machine has an overedge stitch, but it’s still kind of messy… not to mention painfully slow.

  4. Peachy April 1, 2008 at 9:23 pm #

    ohhh… my sister would be so jealous if she knew you were getting a serger~ haha We used a zig zag stitch all around everything. It took forever! (Ok, I’m exaggerating, but it was tedious.)

  5. Lemonbasil April 5, 2008 at 11:51 pm #

    …… WHY ARE YOU STANDING LIKE THAT? I just realized how accurate your description of yourself was. Old man. =_=;;; But the dress is an amazing success! I can’t wait till you can wear it out!

  6. Caitlin February 4, 2012 at 10:56 am #

    I realize this post is from a bajillion years ago, but I was curious as to how you modified the waistband. I too am worried about backfat…haha! I really like the way your dress turned out and was hoping I could get a little more info!

    • Peachy March 17, 2012 at 12:45 am #

      Sister basically made the waistband wide enough to to looks like a tube top. You can see it in the picture from the front. What looks like a tank under the dress is actually the top edge of the waist band. 🙂

Leave a Reply

