All the world’s a stage…

18 Mar

I just got back from watching Mask, a new musical on stage at the Pasadena Playhouse. Wow was it amazing. I actually won tickets to see this by calling our local NPR station, 89.3 KPCC. You know one of those.. “be our 3rd caller to win tickets to…” So, I actually won 2 tickets. (holy cow.. just found out that these tickets are $61 each O.o )

Mask Poster

Both my mother and I really enjoyed the show. I laughed. I cried. I’m sure many of you haven’t heard of the movie Mask from the 80’s, which this is a musical adaptation of. It’s set in Azusa, California in the mid 70’s about a biker mother who’s addicted to drugs and her son who has a rare medical condition which deforms his face and the powerful relationship and struggles they have. Apparently this is based on a true story. It was a rock ‘n roll type musical. I have to say that a lot of the musical numbers were forgettable. The performances of the cast however, were just outstanding. I was really impressed by the acting especially Michelle Duffy who plays Rusty the ‘mom.’ If perchance you get the opportunity to see this I recommend it.  You will be touched.

3 Responses to “All the world’s a stage…”

  1. Hannah Blaisdell March 22, 2008 at 8:48 pm #

    my dad’s in the show and i’ve seen this show 5 times i adore the show and the cast. their a wonderful cast. ant to tell the truth the show was way better than the movie. michell duffy and allen e. read rock as rocky and rusty.

  2. Hannah Blaisdell March 22, 2008 at 8:56 pm #

    i was a mess, i cried my eyes out…

  3. Peachy March 24, 2008 at 3:16 pm #

    That’s awesome that your father’s in the cast. I bawled my eyes out too.

Leave a Reply

