Quick update on work situation

4 Feb

Just in case some of you kiddies are keeping track, giving notice went extremely well.  I was really prepared for the worst.  I mean seriously sweating bullets agonizing over how I could say what I wanted to say in a way that wouldn’t just immediately dismissed.  What I didn’t expect and what happened was the acceptance to my criticism & understanding of my position and the overall issues I felt needed to be addressed.  It was a bit surreal.  Some of you may say that I was overreacting.  I assure you I was not.  I have seen that woman seriously lay into people for no good reason leaving them a teary mess.  (Not that I’d be that upset if she had gotten nasty.  Or at least I hope I’m a little tougher than that.)  Of course they’re trying to delay my departure… but that isn’t going to happen.  Now that I’ve made my decision to leave, I am anxious to move on. 

A part of me is beginning to have separation anxiety of the thought of leaving almost everything I associate with “home”. (The exception to that being my husband…. ok ok I know that was kind of saccharin and we’re not even quite at 2/14 yet.)  The thought of leaving here and moving to a country where I don’t even speak the language is frightening.  (Dang it, I KNEW I should have taken Spanish in HS~ @#%!! )  The control freak part of myself is starting to, well… just slightly freak out.  I think I’ll be okay.  I am sure that this is normal for anyone who has relocated in a similar fashion.  I think the amount of time left before I leave is getting to a place where I’m feeling a bit of a squeeze.  I’ve been telling myself that I have “plenty of time”.  Well… no longer.

2 Responses to “Quick update on work situation”

  1. hapamama February 4, 2008 at 3:26 pm #

    If you’re that worried about the Spanish, see if you can get your hands on the Rosetta Stone software, Spanish version. I’ve worked with the English version with ELL kids and it really seems to work well.

  2. Peachy February 5, 2008 at 7:48 pm #

    Thanks for the rec. I actually did order the demo CD, but since I only have a few weeks left. It kind of seems like a waste to buy it at this point. :\

Leave a Reply

