Starting Over…

12 Jan

Well I know I haven’t really written about it yet, but I’ve taken up crocheting as a hobby.  I’d say that I qualify as an intermediate crocheter.  After having watched a friend/co-worker of mine knit up a really beautiful yet simple scarf up, I was inspired!

Last night I spent most of the evening attempting to teach myself knitting in the continental style.  The key word here being attempting…  >_<;;  The more common style is english knitting.  I learned this way once ages ago as a little girl.  The is much debate about which style is ‘better.’  Either way, continental style is faster and requires less movement, also generally you hold the yarn in your left hand.  Since I am a beginner I have all options available to me.  It does seem easier for me to keep my yarn tension more consistent with continental as I am used to doing this with my crocheting.  Armed with some spare stash yarn and size 8 aluminum needles, I managed to master the knit stitch.  (I’m not even going to go into the finger gymnastics required to accomplish a purl stitch in the continental style.)  I was rather frustrated at how my stitches kept on slipping off the tips of the needles.  After some research on the Ravelry web boards, it was suggested that metal knitting needles were not suggested for beginners because of the slippage.  doh~

Thus re-energized, today I visited my LYS (Local Yarn Store, for you non knitter/crocheters out there) for some advice.  They heartily agreed with me that metal is not the way to go for beginners.  They also steered me away from the Plymouth Dreambaby DK yarn that I was eyeballing and suggested that worsted weight is better for your first project.  The reasoning here being that the main purpose was to work on the technique and thinner yarns might make that more difficult.  I ended up settling on 2 skeins of Plymouth Encore Colorspun in a grey/green colorway.  I also picked up some Brittany knitting needles in size 10 on sale for $5.60!  This was my first visit to Unraveled, and the ladies were super nice and helpful.  No anti-crochet sentiments what so ever.  I was encouraged to drop by the free knitting classes for demos on how to do the continental style purling.  I’m told there are 3 different ways!  O.o  I guess I will cross that bridge when I come to it. 

Wish me luck!

2 Responses to “Starting Over…”

  1. hapamama January 12, 2008 at 5:58 pm #

    Hmm, I guess I should look into trying continental style. I’ve tried English before, and it doesn’t really work out well for me because of the nerve damage in my left hand. For now, the extent of my knitting involves the looms.

  2. Peachy January 12, 2008 at 7:37 pm #

    I’ve seen those looms, they’re pretty cool! Try http://www.knittinghelp.com they have some awesome ‘how to’ videos.

Leave a Reply

